Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Wombat Professor and Sheep

subbster

Cavy Slave
Hi,

I recently adopted two piggies, Professor and Sheep, (previously living in a cage together with a few others) to be friends for my male pig Wombat. I have a concern or two I wanted to ask about.

Sheep is definately a male, but I am a little concerned that Professor may be a girl. First of all, despite checking out every sexing pic I can find on the net I can't be _positive_ he's a boy. Secondly, when I put the cage he and Sheep are in near Wombat's cage, I noticed both Wombat and Sheep got a little, er, "wet" around the genitals - a clear gooey liquid rather than urine. Is this a sign of being turned on by a female presence, or just part and parcel of the usual "dominance" mounting routine, or something else?

I am also wondering how to go about introductions. Should I introduce all three on the couch at once, or just 1 to 1? Should I try to integrate them all rather quickly, or get one of the new pigs getting along with Wombat in the main cage, then the other new one a week or so later?

I am also a little concerned that Professor will be picked on - he is a friendly piggie but has deformed front feet (he uses the backs of them to walk on). Will this be a problem in the social structure, and should I perhaps introduce him to Wombat first in the hope that Wombat's initial acceptance will provide a place in the hierarchy?

Thanks for any replys... btw I have all three seperated until I can get a better idea on Professor's sex!

subbster

Cavy Slave