Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Diet white spots on bedding-too much calcium? can help advise please

robbo

Cavy Slave
Hi

I am new to having guinea pigs (2 boars),done quite alot of research but think i may have the diet wrong? I have noticed white spots on the bedding and from research there are conflicting explanations? some say normal and other saying it is too much calcium in their diet and could lead to bladder sludge/baldder stones :-( Is this correct? i have felt the white spots and some are smooth and others gritty. I am now unsure what to feed them? they have unlimited hay, half cup pellets between them, and then 1 small cup veg each every evening, what veg can i give them everyday tho or is it a mix and match?? could you post your veg diets as examples for me please ;-) i have looked on the guinea lynx but its a bit confusing for a newbie! Thank you!!

Excess calcium in the urine is definitely implicated in urinary tract stones, but it's not the only factor. But since pigs don't seem to form stones if they don't excrete calcium in the urine, it seems like only good sense to me to try to prevent it.

If you're feeding romaine (cos) lettuce, I'd change that to something else -- red or green leaf lettuce. And you need to look for a low-calcium pellet, but I'm not sure what's available to you in the UK. Avoid parsley, spinach, kale, and other dark leafy greens.

A good many people in England used filtered water because of the high limestone content in much of the water. You can get an attachments for your faucet or a pitcher with a filter that will take much of the calcium out of the water.