Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

General What should I do?

• Thread starter CaptainBeansMom
  • Start date

CaptainBeansMom

Cavy Slave
Hi Everyone! This is my first time posting and I'm really interested in ANY opinions in regards to what I should do.  The situation is this.......I was searching online a couple of weeks ago for guinea pigs that may be up for adoption at a shelter or someone who had one for adoption in my area (Raleigh, NC). I found a posting online from a person who had 50+ guinea pigs for adoption. I made contact and arranged a time to meet with the seller. When I arrived to the sellers home, behind the house were 4 pens (3 pens had guinea pigs and the other pen had rabbits). The conditions the guinea pigs were in was deplorable in my opinion because each pen had 20+ pigs and the cages bottom were wire (which we all know is bad for gp's feet). There was no hay in the cages (she said it keeps falling through the wire), there was no food, or water in the cages. The guinea pigs were coming to the wire wheeking for food. About 10 gps had deformed legs, and they were all grouped together (boys and girls). Through my conversation with the seller, I found out the she had sold 250 gps that week alone. She called for her husband to come give 1 pen of gp some food, and he poured pellets in a large dish, and the gps in that pen basically attacked the food because they were so hungry. This to me seems like cruelty. What should I do? Who do I contact? I don't want to ruin her livelyhood however I believe that you should have certain standards if you are breeding animals. I would like to have someone else visit this place because maybe I'm overreacting. What do I do?