Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

What Products Do YOU Use/Like/Recommend?

skittyginny

Cavy Slave
Hi, I'm new to piggies. (But not to small animals.) I'd really appreciate it if I could get some recommendations on products. I'm looking for suggestions on everything but specifically:

-Wheels
-Toys
-Hides/Snugglies/beds
-Hay Racks
-Water bottles
-Chews
-Anything else pigs like/need

And links to the sites you get the stuff from or if it's from PetSmart/Petco.

Please do not buy your guinea pig a wheel or one of those roll around balls for that matter. They are VERY dangerous to piggies!

Don't get a wheel for your pigs. Their spines aren't made to bend the way they have to in a wheel, so they're much more prone to back injury than a rat, hamster or mouse. If they have a large enough cage, they'll get plenty of exercise just running around in the cage, and if not, floor time helps too.

Plastic igloos ("pigloos") are pretty cheap and quite popular hiding places. You'll probably want one per pig, unless yours really get along well and prefer to share.

As for a water bottle, I prefer the plain twist-cap bottle with the metal ball. Some people use a "leak-proof" design that has a spring to keep the ball valve closed, but I've read that some pigs have trouble using it. And the top-filling bottles supposedly leak.

Chews...your pigs theoretically shouldn't need any, as an unlimited supply of grass hay will keep their teeth worn down. But some plain wooden chew toys wouldn't hurt; my pigs like to chew on fruit wood twigs; they're about as natural as it gets.