Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

What is the very minimum about of things you need to get started with Guinea Pigs?

Muddy405

Cavy Slave
I am new to guinea pins and i was wondering what the bare minimum of things i needed was?

Muddy405

Cavy Slave
Oops! i ment Guinea Pigs

LuvMyPiggers

Cavy Gazer
Re: What is the very minimum about of things you need to get started with Guinea Pigs?

Probably Medical info, Diet, Daily Care, Monthly care, grooming, bedding. So basically, you should know ALOT. Never trust what breeders and pet stores say.

aqh88

Cavy Slave
Re: What is the very minimum about of things you need to get started with Guinea Pigs?

A cage: preferably 2x4 c&c for 2

At least 1 of:
house or hiding place
water bottle(2 is useful incase 1 doesn't work)
food dish

Food:
hay: alfalfa for young pigs and grass hay for adults
variety of veggies
good quality pellets: not hartz, kaytee is acceptable but I'd rather feed no pellets if that's all I could get, oxbow and kleenmamas pellets are best which you can order from oxbowhay.com or kmshayloft.com if oxbow pellets aren't sold in your area. Pellets are not necessary if you know what veggies to feed and have some good hay.

Toys are always appreciated
Room for floortime and maybe a playpen but you can make one out of grids

Muddy405

Cavy Slave
LuvMyPiggers said:
Probably Medical info, Diet, Daily Care, Monthly care, grooming, bedding. So basically, you should know ALOT. Never trust what breeders and pet stores say.

Ok Ummm what do u mean "by what breeders and pet stors say." What do they say.

aqh88

Cavy Slave