Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register
  • ONE THREAD per pig please!
    We really want your pig's history all in one place to help you. Please don't start a new thread for a new issue. Just reply to your old one. We can edit the title for you if needed.

URI/Upper Respiratory Infection What can I do differently to prevent this in the future?

dreamweavermw

Cavy Slave
I'm a newbie guinea owner and I just recently got Moogle, a young guinea pig from Petco. After doing more research about guinea pigs,I now regret buying from a pet-store as opposed to adopting. I noticed yesterday that his right eye was a bit crusty and squinted and that he would sneeze occasionally. I took him to my vet, and he diagnosed him with a URI and prescribed a penicillan free antibiotic. I've read that certain bedding materials can cause a URI and I want to do everything possible to prevent this in the future. I am currently using Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding but am considering switching to a fleece cage liner instead. Is another type of bedding better or should I just make the change to fleece? Any input or help you can give is greatly appreciated.

Bedding doesn't cause URIs -- they're caused by viruses or bacteria. Aromatic soft-wood bedding (like pine) that has not been kiln-dried can irritate the lungs (and feet and bellies) and make them more susceptible to infections, and very dusty bedding can also be irritating.

There's a ton of info on fleece in these forums -- read the bedding thread. Some people love it, some hate it. You'll also find other suggestions on what people prefer.

Thanks so much!

I switched to fleece and love it,strawberry does to.