Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Liners Uhaul layers, 1 or 2?

Kimberly713

Cavy Slave
Hey everyone!
I am looking into sewing up some more fleece liners for the cage, but this time with uhaul pads. I am leaning towards reversible liners, so it'd be fleece+uhaul+fleece. I've read over and over again that you can use either 1 or 2 layers of the uhaul pad, and considering I'm a very frugal college student, I'd like to make my pads go far :p
I have two pigs, girls, in a 2x5 cage. And I plan to change out the liner every 4 days or so. Here's a pic of the cage: The Cage - Guinea Pig Cage Photos
How many do you use, and why?

Also, just an FYI, Joanns is having a 50% off blizzard fleece til saturday :)

I agree that one layer of UHaul is enough and also agree that a standard sewing machine would be able to handle 4 layers. In fact mine can't even handle 2 layers of fleece plus one of U-haul so when I make mine, I just made sort of a pillowcase with 2 layers of fleece, inserted the piece of U-haul and then made hand stitches about every 6 inches across and down the liner to hold the Uhaul in place.

I use a single layer of uhaul padding in my fleece pads. If the inside layer is too thick, it doesn't dry completely. I put a single layer of uhaul padding under my fleece pads. I also flip my pads so I get use out of both sides. I use two fleece pads, side by side, in all my cages. I can clean one half of the cage at a time while my guinea pigs just move to the other side of the cage.

I've always used two layers. I have never tried a single layer but I might do that since I am needing to make new sets of liners anyway. I change my liners once a week, so I'm not sure if one layer would be able to absorb a week's worth of moisture?

Thanks for the heads-up on the sale!