Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Bedding thoughts in fleece

Shivra

Cavy Slave
Well I have been using fleece for about six months. I've grown to hate it and I feel like its always dirty.
I have 3 girls in a 2x6 on newspaper,then towels and then the fleece on top. I have two litterpans at opposite corners and they pee mostly in it,but the other two corners get peed in too.

How do you guys layer your fleece? Right now I'm ready to pitch it and go back to shavings and carefresh 50/50!

I do spot clean every day when I change food and water, so there's not many poops that stay around and get smooshed in.

Help!

i had the same problem until i made a kitchen/litter area yesterday. they've been mostly pooping and peeing in that as they eat their hay!

i layer 2-3 towels on top of each other then layer a section of fleece on top.

Stop using newspaper as it will get soggy, stick to the towels & make it more smelly.
Do you have a kitchen area with disposable bedding? This will greatly reduce both hay on the fleece, poop & pee as pigs like to go where the hay is, might be worth giving it a try. Litterpans just take up room & pigs usually don't care for them unfortunately.

Stop using newspaper as it will get soggy, stick to the towels & make it more smelly.
Do you have a kitchen area with disposable bedding? This will greatly reduce both hay on the fleece, poop & pee as pigs like to go where the hay is, might be worth giving it a try. Litterpans just take up room & pigs usually don't care for them unfortunately.

Yep I have a kitchen area, and ill get rid of the newspaper. I use carefresh in the litter pan. Thanks for the tips!