Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Fleece Stinky Fleece after washing? Not wicking the pee away? LOOK HERE!!!

littledinobug

Cavy Slave
Ok, we all know (I hope!) that using fabric softener on Piggy Fleece, isn't a good thing. 1: for the chemicals and 2: It interferes with the absorbency of the soaker pad underneath, and it interferes with the wicking properties of the fleece (It's what keeps our piggies dry after a pee)

Now, I have extensive experience (Well 2 kids worth isn't really "extensive"...but maybe the total of 8 years between them is) cloth diapering.

I learned that if the fleece gets stinky (Fleece liners are used primarily in diapering to keep the baby's skin dry especially at night) a good stripping is in order.

See, if you use your dryer, you probably use dryer sheets, this causes a buildup in your dryer drum. So even if you don't use dryer sheets/fabric softener with your piggy bed, tossing it in the dryer will get minute amounts on it. After a while, it builds up, and then you get THE STINK. (I guess it'll be worse if you have boars and their stank...because it won't go away)

Instead of pitching your fleece, try this:

Step 1: Fill your washer with HOT water, pure hot water...
Step 2: Add about 1-2 cups white vinegar.
Step 3: soak for a bit
Step 4: Wash as normal.
Step 5: Hang to dry.

This should work to get rid of the fabric softener build up on your fleece, thereby saving you from pitching it, and getting more (saving you money! saving money is good right? means more veggies for the piggies)

You should do this every few washes to keep the build up from getting too bad. It's also a good way to kill any resistant bacteria that might be in there.