Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register
  • ONE THREAD per pig please!
    We really want your pig's history all in one place to help you. Please don't start a new thread for a new issue. Just reply to your old one. We can edit the title for you if needed.

Heart Issues Stethoscope

H@nn@h

Cavy Star, Photo Contest Winner
Cavy Slave
Just wondering if anyone could reccommend a good, but not too expencive stethoscop for my pigs. I like to check their ears, eyes, mouth, nose, skin ect everyday and would also like to keep and eye on their heart and lungs. I have no knowledge when it comes to stethoscopes so just need some advise on a good one. I dont want to spend too much but i also don't want to buy a cheap one that doesnt work very well.
Advice would be greatly apperciated! Thankyou.

Thanks for your reply. I will just get a cheapy one and see how it goes, I wouldn't know what I was looking for anyway, just like to know my piggies are healthy and figured I'd get used to what thye sound like and notice if it changes. And when I say I check their mouth I really mean their teeth haha i guess it would be a pretty hard job to explore in there lol

i don't doubt your good intentions, but i wonder about the extent of your checking them out. i understand they are fragile critters, and we do need to keep on top of any changes or problems and intervene appropriately, and sometimes quickly, but i also think that monitoring their heart and lungs yourself may be a bit beyond what's necessary.

unless you're a vet yourself, you wouldn't really know what you were listening for or to anyway.