Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

General Questions about my new cage setup

adorelfn

Cavy Slave
Hi everyone
I recently purchased the Midwest Guinea Habitat plus and expect it to arrive any day. I was reading some reviews of it online and have been looking at pictures of the amazing cages some of you have built and I have a couple of questions or sort of need advice since I'm new to GP's.

I have read that using carefresh or wood shaving bedding in these types of cages can be difficult to keep clean and I notice many do not use it at all but instead cover the bottoms with fleece. My question is probably silly, but don't the piggies pee and poo all over the fleece? Do you set up an area for them to go and they just know to go there? Should I cover the bottom with fleece or use the divider and only use the bedding in the small area? I'm unsure what to do and want to make cleaning as easy and as stress free as possible for my piggies. I have 3 girls and plan to eventually connect two of these cages ( probably into a double decker cage due to space limits ) but for now I just ordered the one. I want them to have the best cage I can give them but I'm on disability for a back problem right now so funds are somewhat limited.

Any suggestions you can provide would be much appreciated.

Thanks
Kim

PS my piggies are Lily, Ava and Stella I've only had them about a week and am taking it slow with regard to handling them so they have time to adjust. I will post pics of them when I'm able to get some good ones.

Thanks again!

Yes they poop and pee all over the fleece! The pee is absorbed pretty well in the fleece and the poop doesn't really smell till about a week (for me, anyway). I wash it by rolling up the fleece and towels underneath, shaking them outside, and then washing them in the machine! It is pretty easy for me.