Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Fleece Problem with washing fleece!

Llamasomething

Cavy Slave
So I've been using fleece bedding for about 2 years now, just shaking it out in the yard and throwing it in the washer, but my dad moved a load of piggy blankets from the washer into the dryer for me a few days ago and found a ridiculous amount of hair stuck in the washer, and apparently that's very bad for our type of washing machine, as it wasn't built to handle that amount of hair and buildup in there.

I have a long-haired piggy who sheds a LOT, so there's always going to be a lot of hair. Are there any good ways to get the hair off of the fleece before putting it in the washer/dryer?

I am glad you wrote this....I just started using fleece and I have a piggy with long hair too so I am very curious to see what others say

The only thing I have really seen is people saying to use a lint roller. I just switched over to fleece and have washed it only once at this point (after about 4-5 days), and tried to lint roll it. It was basically impossible! After about 5-6 sheets I gave up and just threw it in the washer. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Hmm, I'll look for that brush.
I don't need ALL the fur to be gone from the fleece, I just need it to be a more reasonable amount. I mean, we also have a cat and a dog and there's always a bit of fur on everything we wash, but the amount on the piggy blankets it far above and beyond the normal amount.

You can just use regular old yellow rubber gloves instead of the pet brush also! I just hold the fleece tight and sweep my hands over it with the gloves and it balls up the fur so I can just pick it up and put in the garbage. I think I read that as a tip from someone else on here once before. Works really well for me.