Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Pregnant?

texascavycabins

Cavy Slave
I got into the cavy scene about a month ago when I rescued 2 female piggies. They have integrated nicely into our zoo! They currently reside in a 3'x5' C&C two story cage. I noticed that one of them was getting fat....now she's even bigger. After some research, I'm afraid she is pregnant! She was housed with a male when I rescued her, and I took the two females to prevent this problem... now I know it dosen't take much! I have been frantically learning everything and anything I can about taking care of pregnant piggies and pups, but I am a dog trainer! I know nothing (except what I've been reading in the last month) about piggies! WHAT DO I DO?:eek:

PiggieMom

Cavy Slave
Here's a really good page with information on pregnancy: https://www.guinealynx.info/reproduction.html

There are a lot of people here who have been in simular situations. They'll be able to help more. Good luck. I know this is really scary.

Just a question though: Where did you rescue her? Did you "rescue" her from a pet store or did you get them from an actual rescue? If you got them from an actual rescue, I wonder why she was housed with her brother. That is very unresponsible. You may want to let them know.

EDIT: You may want to double check the sex of both of them. Unresponsible rescues and especially pet stores are notorious for missexing. Here's a good page on that: https://cavyspirit.com/sexing.htm. If you aren't confident in doing this I'd take them to an experienced cavy savvy vet.

texascavycabins

Cavy Slave