Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Pellets Oxbow: Yay or Nay?

Roo99

Cavy Slave
Hello there!

I will (hopefully) be adopting some cavies from my local rescue. They are a bonded pair of boars.

I do not know the current food that they are eating, but I have some questions.

Oxbow: Yay, or Nay? I have heard lots of good and bad about Oxbow. The boars are 6 and 8 months old, so I'm not sure whether they would be ready for the adult formula or not.

Any other good brands? I would much rather buy from a local pet supply store then order online, simply because I live within 5 miles of a PetSmart, Petco, and a local pet supply store.

Although I won't be skimping on nutrition, least expensive would be nice so long as it contains the necessary vitamins, minerals, and ingredients.

I am a newbie, so please be patient with my overall ignorance. I'm not stupid, just a bit confused about pellets. Thank you very much! Have a wonderful day.

-Roo

Oxbow makes good pellets. There are just some pigs who excrete calcium in their urine when fed them, but not all pigs do. Those who do secrete calcium on Oxbow tend to do better on KM.

As far as buying them locally vs. ordering them, the cheapest on depends on where you are. You have to remember that a pet store is also charging you for shipping, they just add everything together and quote you one price, whereas a site like KM quotes a price for the pellets and a price for the shipping.

I live 2,000 miles from KM, and for me, the price of Oxbow and KM pellets per pound is almost identical. Sometimes KM will be a few pennies more because of the shipping price, sometimes a few pennies less. But the difference has never been more than a dime a pound in either direction.