Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

New Piggy Mommy: So Many Questions! Feedback Welcome!!

ashleyshamer

Cavy Slave
Hi everyone!! I'm new to the wonderful world of Guinea Pigs and I have so many questions! I started off with two boys, Theo and Ralphie, but unfortunately Theo was not a nice boy and I had to give him back. Since there were no other males available, I ended up getting two females, Bella and Sophia. I just made them a C&C cage which was not easy. I'll post a picture (forgive all the mess) and I would love feedback. I don't have too much for them so if there is something I don't have that I need, or something I should change, please tell me. Also, I have a dog who loves watching them. She doesn't try to bite at them or anything and they seem to like her too. Sophia sticks her little nose up against my dogs (its so cute!) Is this bad?

Attachments

IMAG0949-1-1.jpg
Welcome to the forum! :) Your cage looks great! What are you using for bedding?

One thing I will say, you shouldn't give them more than one baby carrot a peice per day, and shouldn't be an EVERY day occourance. - The big carrot in the cage is too large for them, that's too much sugar for your piggies in one day.

Thanks! I'm not finished. Somehow my measurments were off and instead of a 2x4 it turned out to be a 2/3x4 haha. I'm using Carefresh bedding. I heard it was a good brand to use.

I'll make sure I take them out. My Mom came to my house while I was at work and she wanted to give them a treat. They haven't really paid much attention to them. However I will say that Bella loves to lay on them haha.

looks good. I would suggest using fleece and just make an area in cage a kitchen area for food and hay and you can use care fresh there. Fleece will making cleaning that cage alot easier.