Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

New and have some questions

M

MoonDreamer480

New and have some questions

Hi everyone! I'm new to this forum and currently do not have a guinea pig. I'm looking into them as I will be moving into an apartment that does not allow cats and dogs, and I'm a person that needs to have a pet to take care of.

I will be moving in with a friend and for the sake of not starting a fire with her, I would like to only get one guinea pig. Is this okay? I am a teacher and not working at all this summer. My normal hours during the school year are typically 8-5. I would have plenty of time to spend with him/her when I was home. Also, my roommate and I were both curious if they smell. I have another friend that just recently got a chinchilla and they are said to be the cleanest and least smelly of small animals. Are guinea pigs pretty clean animals?

Really any information anybody could share with me would be greatly appreciated. I want to know as much as possible before I go and buy one to make sure that it is the best decision for both me and the guinea pig.

THANKS and sorry for the really long post!

T

tggdan3b

Pigs for Pets

Only getting one pig is fine, but it needs a lot of attention- it's a social animal so it needs friends. Whether that's human friends or another piggie isn't as important as is that it gets plenty of attention.

They don't really smell. The cage will start to smell like ammonia after a while, but that just means you need to clean the cage. The pigs release a scent when it smells a female (if it is male), and that kind of reeks, but other than that they're pretty clean animals.