Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Nutrition My N00b Questions & Starting Out

skittyginny

Cavy Slave
Hi, so I'm new to pigs. I've has small animals so I know of all the things hamsters and rats can't eat and what brands of hamster and rat food to avoid. Because of this, I am paranoid. So some n00b questions:

-Hay
-Dry/formula food
-Veggies/fruits/leafy greens/general noms
-Treats
-Proper portions and nutritional needs
-Anything else I should know

And what are good brands and where to buy them. Thank you..

As for hay: KMS: (broken link removed) <---- Here's the link. (they also sell pellets.)

Or Oxbow pellets/hay which you can find at Petsmart. If your piggy is over 6 months of age make sure it's Timothy based pellets. NOT alfalfa hay. :eek:

Treats that are available at pets stores are not good for them. Including yogurt based treats. Do not feed them to your pigs. They are high in sugar, and can cause more harm than good.

The best treats for them, are mainly their vegies. :love:

As far as other foods/vegies go look here ----> https://www.guineapigcages.com/food/Veggie-and-Fruit-Charts.pdf It's a complete chart of what and how much to feed your little guy/girl.

Hope this helps!

Where are you? It's easier to answer some of those questions if we know how far you are from good sources.

I agree. Many can help you- as far as what may be available to you in your area.

Thank you Cheeky Piggy! No alfalfa, no store treats, lotta veggies, got it! :cheerful:

I live in Saint Louis, Missouri. The closest major international city is Chicago with is 5.5 hours away.