Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Fleece Layering opinions wanted

rottiemominde

Cavy Slave
I have several questions actually...

1) Which is better for layering - UHaul pads or mattress pads

2) Any secrets / tips for sewing these together with the fleece? I am a beginner when it comes to sewing but have a wonderful sewing machine waiting to be put to good use.

3) I was thinking of doing fleece on top of the tiles listed in the link below. I thought they would be great for keeping the fleece even dryer ... with pads underneath the tiles. I'm hoping the fleece on top will be sufficient to keep the piggies feet comfortable. Any thoughts?

I currently use fleece, then adult incontinence pads and newspaper under that (the newspaper really isn't needed - never gets wet).

I wanted to add - I see lots of discussions about "puppy pads" I have found the adult incontinence pads - especially the store brands - to be MUCH cheaper. I believe they are the same things, just marketed differently. I could be wrong and would love to hear other's opinions on that as well. FYI, I fell in love with these incontinence pads when I used them on my daughter's diaper changing pad and used them for restroom changing tables over top of the bring-along "cushion" too.

Thanks to all for your valuable advice! ❤️

on number one i would use a UHaul pad.... that's what i use and its wonderful :)

Thanks Lucas! And just to confirm, from the UHaul website, is the right thing to use the "furniture pads" that are $7.95 each or the "quilted pads" that are $14.95 each? Not sure what the difference is between the two.