Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Just adopted two "super" cavies (super as in BIG)

SuperCavy

Cavy Slave
Hi everyone. I'm new to cavy ownership and just adopted a pair of big guinea pigs--the larger one, we're calling her Paloma, is over 2 kg. I'm a little annoyed I can't find a real breed name for her other than "cuy" or "super guinea pig" but oh well. She's red and white, with a slight crest going on, and seems like she'll be a sweety once she's decided we're no longer terrifying.
The other is Tulip, who is at least half Abyssinian and maybe half "cuy" since she's also pretty big. So far she seems to be the boss despite being smaller--probably because she's not nearly as terrified of everything as Paloma is.

They're both pretty skittish but definitely cute. They've got a pretty large C&C cage (slightly over 2x5--it's an "L" shape with two extra square grids-worth) to play in, although I need to make the walls of the coroplast a little higher as they kick up the bedding everywhere if they panic at something.

I'm still trying to get the hang of the noises--I'm used to rabbits, which really only thump, tooth purr, or occasionally snort-growl. (Or scream, but that's really bad news when they do that; only had one rabbit do that when her foot got stepped on accidentally--she was okay though.) And of course I already know they're body language, but guinea pigs are different enough that I'm going to have to study them a bunch. Can't quite tell the grumpy noises from the happy just yet--sort of thought they were having fun earlier when I put them down on the floor and forced them to put up with me sitting near them but now I'm wondering if they were unhappy about it. Hopefully the bell pepper and strawberry treats they got made up for it.