Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Behavior Is this normal?

momma2three

Cavy Slave
I am VERY new to guinea pigs. I had one when I was a child, but after reading through this site, I realize I really know nothing about them! I just got another one about 4 days ago from a pet store. When I saw her, she was playing, running around, etc. Since getting her home, she won't come out of her pigloo. :sad: I was worried she wouldn't eat, so I put some hay and food in the pigloo for her and she did eat it. She has come out a few times to get water, but she goes right back. When I hold her, she shakes and tries to burrow in my shirt. I want to make her comfortable around me, but I'm not sure how to do it! She does run around when I give her floor time, but even then it's only for a little while, then she's running to the nearest hiding place. Help!!

Guinea pigs are almost always shy when they first come home, especially if they are the only pig. Give her some time to adjust, then try hand-feeding her some veggies while talking quietly to her.

Guinea pigs are almost always shy when they first come home, especially if they are the only pig. Give her some time to adjust, then try hand-feeding her some veggies while talking quietly to her.

Thanks. I will try that! I'm getting a 2nd piggie tomorrow, so I am hoping that helps a little. I'm thinking she might be lonely.

She is currently just shy. She will eat. They are little piggies and will find a way to eat.
Ditto to the hand feeding. Even if it is just some bits of hay or lettuce. She will realize that good things come from you and will soon settle down.