Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Introducing new baby..how?

Kristi

Cavy Slave
Hi everyone. I have a 6 mth old male (Lightning) that we adopted around Easter (from member Denise on here) and he's doing very well. Well, when she got him, he was with a female and the female ended up being pregnant. I halted my search for a pair for Lightning and hoped to adopt one of the pups. We did that today. We adopted a 3 week old precious little guy named Coconut.

Now, I'm a real newbie with the pigs here and I need some guidance. I've read about socializing them on some of the links on here, but I'm still full of questions. I've got a cavy cage with 2 levels and I was planning on keeping Coconut on the bottom and Lightning on the top to begin with to let Coconut get acclimated to his surroundings. But should I not do that since the cage is technically Lightnings cage and will he feel all traumatized that he can't get to his lower level (he stays on top most of the time anyway.....)?

If that is okay, then how long do I keep them seperated? I don't really feel the need to quarantine. I know where he came from and that he is clean and healthy. (or is that very naive of me?) When do I do the initial introductions

I did let Lightning smell him through the cage for a moment and he squeaked like crazy and then started purring as he was smelling Coconut. Was that a good sign? I didn't want to traumatize Coconut too much, so I only did it for a moment. For tonight, I've got Coconut in a seperate cage b/c I realized I need to increase the height of my chloroplast b/c he's such a tiny guy and can escape. But once I do that, do I put him in the bottom? And should I totally clean it or is it better to leave Lightning's smell in there?