Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Hi

aussiekanga

Cavy Slave
Hi Everyone,
I am a newbie to the site and the wonderful world of guinea pigs,I had them when I was little and now my little boy is experiencing the same joys I did 30 years ago.
I have 1 male and two females who are/were both pregnant,the young girl had two gorgeous babies on Thursday afternoon but sadly when we got up this morning one little piggie was dead.
I had separated her and the bubs when she had them and have them in warm spot in our house.
The older female is pregnant for the second time since we rescued them,her last babies all died sadly. Firstly I didn't no she was pregnant as I am a newbie and the people I bought them off were clueless.
So she had one overnight and I was out all day but when I arrived home she was making strange noises,my boy and I didn't know what to do and then before our eyes she delivered to dead babies which looked liked they had been dead along time before they came out. I did speparate them from the male because he was being nasty to her but I guess i was to late in doing so because she is pregnant again. I asked the local vet why the previous babies were still born and she believes she maybe an older pig and said they don't cope very well as there bodies change with age and it was best to have desexed as any further pregnancies could kill her,I wish I new this before she got pregnant again so I have her with me all the time at the moment because I am gathering she is due soon as i can feel movement inside her belly.