Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Hi, I'm new here.

JaGGerAndQuE

Cavy Slave
Hi, I'm Kathryn and i have two lovely guinea pigs that i just bought from Petco, Two boys, Jagger and Que, Well i think Jagger's a boy. I haven't been able to really check, as he/she doesn't like to be held.At all.
I'm new to the whole guinea pig ownership jig, but I want to learn as much as possible.
For instance, i still don't know which is the better option, hay or bedding?

First of all, welcome!

You should check to make sure you have pigs of the same sex, otherwise you are risking a pregnant guinea pig and the ensuing serious health complications, and thats barely the tip of the iceburg.

"hay or bedding?": Both! Unlimited grass hay should be fed, and bedding should be use for, well, bedding! You could put some hay on top of your bedding if you choose, but hay tends to have quite an odor when pigs pee on it, so I keep my floors clean.

If you need help sexing your pigs, you could post up pictures of their "parts", and you can also reference the following link: https://www.guinealynx.info/sexing.html

Hello and welcome! Ditto absolutely everything SurfingPigs said.
You will also have to post some pictures of your piggies for us to see!

Okay i'll be right back and after taking some :)

EDIT: poSted the pictures :)

Last edited:
when I bought mine from Petco they had stickers that said the price and said male or female guinea pigs and the cost. if they were in the same cage and you know one is a boy then they both are because Petco keeps the ,ale and females separated in the stores.