Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register
  • If you need a specific country prefix that isn't listed, please contact the staff.

Canada hey, i need some help with my piggies cage! (and some behaviour help)

RASharpies

Cavy Slave
Hello there! I was wondering if anyone would help me with my piggies cage and give me some advice! I have two male guinea pigs (moo-moo and gary), who will not stop fighting, i researched online and they say the recommended size is much larger than what i have now. I currently have a 24"x45.5" cage, which is small i bought it from a pet store sadly.
Since i am a student i cannot afford to buy a larger cage at this time. I am hoping to get one before christmas because the shipping is quite expensive on a c&c cage. (123$ CAD in total for a 2x4 with a narrow loft!) So i was wondering what should i do with my piggies until then. lately gary has been picking at moo and will not leave him alone unless they are eating or sleeping. Should try to make a homemade cage divider? im not too sure!
So i guess i should give some info on the piggies themselves and what they are normally like. I originally had two other guinea pigs who birthed these two lovely guinea pigs. The father died a year back and we had to sell the mother because my mom did not want any more piggies. They are 2 yrs of age right now and are fighting for dominance. Gary is a lazy piggy who mostly sleeps and eats his pellets all day, he is a scardy-cat and super snugly. Moo-Moo on the other hand likes to jump onto the houses and explore! (and tries to run off the bed a lot)
But lately they have been fighting non-stop leaving moo chattering his teeth on top of their log house hiding from him. I try to scare him back to his house or distract them by some treats, but he keeps on prying at him.

Please reply!! uwu