Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Hello to all!

macysmom

Cavy Slave
Hi, my name is Amanda and I just thought that I would introduce myself. I am new to guinea pigs and am getting my first one on Fri. I just wanted to say that after finding this site I had all my questions answered and all of my fears put to rest. This site also helped me decide that a guinea pig was the right pet for my family. Ive had dogs, cats, horses, hamsters, fish and hermit crabs all of my life, but when we decided to get a pet for my 8 yr old I started researching. A puppy was out of the question because we work and some of the family members are allergic to cats, she wants something cuddly and friendly but a hamster didnt seem quite right and the S.O. just wouldnt go for a rat. So after talking to a bunch of people and internet research we chose a guinea pig. I tried locating a shelter to adopt, but we dont have any down here that take guinea pigs, one gave me a number to call but the people had already rehomed theirs. I had to go with a local breeder but she seems pretty good. I got to meet both parents and they are friendly and healthy, she feeds vegetables daily and free choice hay. She only sells in pairs, but as luck would have it this litter had 3 and 2 of them were already spoken for. I am waiting on a new litter in the future to be able to get a second guinea pig.
I'm starting with a 2x4 C&C cage w/ a second level "kitchen". I'm going with fleece and I'm so excited that I dont think that I can wait till Fri morning. I think Im more excited than the 8 yr old lol. Any suggestions, extra info or ideas are always appreciated. Thanks so much for this forum and site, I would be so lost without it.

Welcome to the forum.