Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Health risk

Laopryde

Cavy Slave
My daughter has two guinea pigs and she keeps them in the large cage in her bedroom. I hardly go to her bedroom due to the odor/fume of her pets' urine and feces. Lately, my children came down with bad sore throat, running nose and coughing. I suspect its because of the odor. Should I be concern for their health due to this fume and odor?

George B.

I am no doctor so I don't know if that is the cause of your children being sick. Breathing in those fumes can't be healthy, though. That being said, if you keep your pigs clean they shouldn't smell bad at all, unless it's boar stink. How big is your cage and how often is it cleaned?

I would suggest you supervise your children's pet care habits more closely. If the cage stinks like that, it's FAR too dirty. It is not good for the pigs either.

Either you or your daughter need to clean that cage way more often. There is no reason for it to smell that bad. Guinea pigs are low odor pets. Mine have never stunk out a room with their urine or poo. What kind of bedding are you keeping them on? How big is the cage? How often is it cleaned? What kind of veggies are they getting? (some veggies I notice make their urine smell, like kale)

A small pet store cage will smell quicker and need more cleaning than a large C&C cage (or equivalent). Guinea pigs kept on hay or straw will smell awful and will start to smell as soon as they pee. Pine/Aspen litter left unchanged and not spot cleaned will start to smell in a few days and could stink out a room in a matter of a week.