Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

General Guinea pig is suddenly sick and I am unsure why. Seizure maybe? Heart attack?

kk292

Cavy Gazer
Okay, so a little history here so we know what we are dealing with. I?ve owned guinea pigs for nearly 12 years. I am by no means an expert but I feel like I have a pretty good handle on what I?m doing. I took a few years off from Cavies and then decided I wanted some again. Enter my beautiful teddy pig and his two cage buddies who were your standard run of the mill pet store pigs. Introduced them properly and the whole nine yards. Came home one day a few months ago to find that one of them had died. He was laying on his side with his feet in the air and his mouth open. No idea what happened because he was was playing and eating and running around the night before. We wrote it off as a heart attack. I had had these guys for about a year and 4 months. They were all estimates to be somewhere around two when we got them. Now I have another situation. My pretty little teddy boy is not doing so hot. About an hour or so ago I was laying in my room and out of nowhere he started thrashing and screaming in his cage. I had full view of his cage mate (who was just quietly sitting in their flipped over house) so I knew it was just him by himself thrashing. At one point his rear even came above the plastic bottom of the cage. I walked over to look at him and saw he was in the exact position of the other pig that I had previously found dead a few months ago. I accidentally hit the cage with my foot and he popped back up and then laid back down but on all fours. So I decided to watch for a moment and he just kinda wobbled and shook for a bit and then flip/kicked his feet out from under him then laid back down. Being standard procedure for me in these situations, I got another cage and quarant