Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Rabbits FOUND rabbit...snorting noise?

Skippie

Cavy Slave
I found a domesticated rabbit today that was likely dumped off behind the drug store. I caught him and currently have him in a cage in my house until I get get a hold of the rabbit rescue.

He appears to be in good shape and is eating. I gave him hay, guinea pig pellets (all i had), and parsley. When he came up to the side of the cage for he parsley, he was making a snorting noise. He did that as he was eating too. I have very little experience with rabbits..is that normal?

Also, are there diseases that can be spread from rabbits to guinea pigs? How about from rabbits to cats or dogs?

I should mention that I don't actually know the sex yet!

Thanks, everyone!

my rabbits don't snort but it could be normal depending on the sound. guinea pigs can get uri from rabbits I do know that so keep them separated.

As far as I know rabbits can not get anything from a piggy but the pigs can get a uri from the pastuerella bacteria not sure about the bordetella. Rabbits can be carriers and show no symptoms.

Thanks. He/she is up and eating this morning and seems to have a soft spot for parsley. I'm hoping the rescuer will take him/her today. He's very friendly, thats for sure!

My bunny which is a girl makes a snorting/grunting noise, but thats when she is grumpy or in heat and doesn't want anyone to touch her?
Other than that rabbits sometimes making a "cooing" noise which could be mistaken as a snort? its when they're happy :)

He seems to be doing it out of happiness..its quite cute! I am concerned though because he doesn't seem to have pooped since I brought him him in last night. I haven't taken him out of the cage yet because he seems nervous about being held. He will let me pet him and feed him by hand.