Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Joy Fostering

Nix16

Cavy Slave
I am going to be fostering a guinea pig from the RSPCA, probably getting him tomorrow. This is my first time fostering so not sure how it'll go, also my first time looking after a boy piggy as I have 5 girls.

This has all been pretty unplanned but I called into the RSPCA to drop off some cans of dog food that my dog refuses to eat and while I was there I asked to see the guinea pig they had a picture of in the window. His name is Gilbert and they have no idea how old he is, he is being housed in an outdoor cage and was so frightened that no-one could get near him let alone pick him up.

Any way I was telling the ranger there about my piggies and my C&C cage (she had never heard of one, and thought it was unusual that I keep my pigs inside) and she was pretty keen for me to adopt him knowing he would have a good home. Of course my dilemma was what to do with a boy piggy with my bunch of girls so wasn't sure it was such a good idea to adopt him.

So when I got home a rang them back to see if they would like me to foster him and try to get him used to people so he can be rehomed properly. So that being said, does any one have any tips on how to try and tame the little guy so he can hopefully get a nice new home, and how I can try to not get too attatched. I am very pleased that at the very least I can get the poor little boy out of the winter cold as it has been snowing in the hills around the city, certainly not ideal time for a homeless piggy to live outside.

Last edited by a moderator:
Frequent gentle handling is the key. That, and bribing with fresh greens.

[GuineaPigCages.com] Fostering