Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Mounting Females do this?

xXMaggieXx

Cavy Slave
I have 3 females (100% positive they are girls. All checked by the vet and myselff. One of them I adopted turned out to be pregnant) Well today one of them is in heat and one of my pigs came over and mounted her and it made the piggy in heat stop rumbling and swaying. Do females do this?

I'm pretty new at being a GP parent and have two girls. I brought a new girl home a couple of days ago and was amazed at what they could do. The very dominate one sprayed pee and the less dominate one mounted the new girl. They are now all in sync and I guess know their place as-far-as cavies go. I dunno' I'm just the Mom. Yes, they are all girls.

Okay. Mine spray pee if someone gets in their way also. I didnt know they could mount, I thought only males do this. Guess I was wrong

Dominant females mount other females. That's how they show their dominance.

Mounting is a sign of dominance, as Pinky mentioned. It's not an exclusively male behavior.

Thanks guys. I didnt know females could do this. At least I know who is dominant for once.

When Quee and Kwee first met, Quee tried to mount Kwee, but Kwee kept running away, so Quee just settled on sort of jumping over her from the side. Silly things.

haha mine does that. Yesterday she actually managed to mount her