Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Introductions Felix and his new friend. Advice needed.

Precia

Cavy Slave
Hi there, I am fairly new to guinea pigs but have been doing extensive research online. A couple of weeks ago I brought home Felix, my 2 month old boy. Since then I have been searching for a friend for him. So many people have told me that boars should be housed separately but I know that Felix needs another boar to be happy.

I have looked through every adoption center in my area. Felix has met several different pigs and none of the introductions have gone well. My options dwindled and I was faced with the sad truth. I could either wait for another pig to come into the adoption centers or I could buy one from a pet store. If I waited I knew Felix would suffer, and I couldn't guarantee one would come in soon... or that it would be male... or that they would get along. But if I bought one from a pet store I would be supporting the breeding mills.

So today I broke down and brought Felix to a pet store with me. We met a 8 month old black and white American pig and they both got along well. No mounting, very little teeth chattering, and they sat next to each other quietly. They even nuzzled each other and sniffed all over. It was very nice compared to the other pigs we had met at the adoption centers.

When I brought them home I bathed both at the same time, clipped the new ones nails (He was so good for this!), and let them run on the floor while I cleaned and set up the cage. During this time they mostly stayed to opposite end of my room, content to not really be close to one another.