Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Cavy Nuzzler

Dawn Emes

Cavy Slave
Dear Cavy People,

I am completely new to this whole Guinea Pig Forum. I joined because I needed information about how to acquire a bigger cage for our two female guinea pigs, Silly Sophie and Fat Marjorie. Julie at the local veterinary clinic suggested I looked on Cavycages.com in order to buy a suitable cage at a reasonable price so here I am. It has taken me two days to get this far. I have written three messages at different points in attempts to find this mysterious 'thread' thing that I have to use for communication and I think that now I have actually found it.

We (My husband, two adult children and I) have owned guinea pigs for about sixteen years, since our children were small. We moved to Canada from the U.K. just over five years ago and my daughter, who was fifteen at the time, told me that she just 'had to have' another guinea pig as we had given her darling 'Tetley' (a male guinea pig) to a close friend in the U.K. when we moved over here. Thus, we now have Sophie and Marj.

Sophie is long-haired, has white fur with russet tones and Marj. is short-haired, smooth and chubby. We have to bathe Sophie once a month because she gets poo in her fur. She is very athletic and intelligent with a lot of energy. She can leap over her bowl and jump in and out of her cage. She is also very bold and adventurous and goes exploring around the kitchen when let loose. She is also very pretty with an almost feline face. Her fur around her face turns upwards and it looks like fluffy whiskers. Her nose is small and that seems to turn up as well. She seems to like being cuddled and becomes quite calm when stroked, losing her natural tendency to have a lot of nervous energy.