Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Rehoming Can't rehome: How much human interaction do pigs need?

TCTrun

Cavy Slave
Well, I've posted to rehome my three pigs on CL, and I've gotten several replies. I'm an extremely busy graduate student, and I also have pet rats. I don't have near as much time for my pigs as I thought I would. Every time I see the picture I posted of them, however, I realize that I can't rehome them. I'm way too attached to them! Therefore, I'm asking how much attention they need from me. Obviously, I keep their cage clean and odor-free (they are on fleece), I feed them KM pellets and high-quality hay, I change their environment to keep them interested, I feed fresh veggies every day, and watch them and pet them a small amount each day. I don't do floor time often, but they are in a decent-sized cage (2x6) which I will probably change to 3x5 soon. Am I being selfish by keeping them, or is it enough that I allow them to enjoy their lives together, even though I only pet them and give them lap time occasionally?

I don't know about all pigs, but I do know that my two love their floor time. I give it to them every day, and because I work at home, I'm able to give them 2-3 hours in their play pens. I also give each of them daily lap time; hard to tell if Borat enjoys it since he's so laid back that he appears to enjoy everything, but Amy snuggles and really gets into it. Personally I can't imagine not giving them both types of interaction daily.