Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

C&C C&C cage specs.

Racquelle76

Cavy Slave
Hello. I am getting ready to make my first C&C cage. I ordered the storage cubes from Wal-Mart last night. They are 14"x14" each. I would like to get a start on putting together the coroplast liner, but without the storage cubes I am not certain how long and wide everything will be. If someone with experience in making these cages could let me know the inner dimensions for the liner and how many of the storage cubes i will need for the length and width, I would greatly appreciate it. Because as I have figured it I would need 4 cubes for the length (@ 14.25" - that is what the Wal-Mart specifications said about the cubes) @ 57" and 2 wide (@ 14.25" to make 28.5"). I am not good at math and my measurements could be wrong. I have 32"W x 62" L of available space for the cages (I am going to stack them). I need HELP! The babies are going to be 3 weeks old next Thursday and I HAVE to seperate the males from females. So the sooner I get things started the better off we will all be. lol

Here are instructions on How to Make a C&C Cage .

If you read them very carefully it will tell you everything you need to know. Based on the amount of space you stated you had, you could make up to a 2 grid x 5 grid cage...If you ordered enough grids. However a 2x4 will work fine too.

If you use the connectors, than your inside dimensions should be 27"x56" for a 2x4 cage. This is also in the link above. The instructions suggest having 6 inch sides, which means you need to add 12 inches to both the length and width (39"x68"). If you plan on using fleece, then you can make lower sides, if you prefer. However, I personally don't recommend going smaller than 3 inches.