Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register
  • ONE THREAD per pig please!
    We really want your pig's history all in one place to help you. Please don't start a new thread for a new issue. Just reply to your old one. We can edit the title for you if needed.

Teeth Broken tooth and grey streaks on the corners of his mouth.

• Thread starter SpazNMeos momma
  • Start date

SpazNMeos momma

Cavy Slave
Hello All,
Tonight i noticed after veggie time that Spaz our more shy guy had some grey stuff staining the color of his fur around his mouth. Upon a closer look I noticed his left bottom tooth is broken about half the way down then his other tooth. I hope that made since. Anyways being that I am relatively new to guinea pigs, is this normal? My husband and I are considering takimg him to the vet, but i dont want to do that if this is fairly common with guinea pigs. If you need a pic of what im talkin about i can post one. I was trying to do this in a hurry that way I get some advice and my husband and I can quit worrying about our little guy. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Broken teeth are fairly common, particularly if you've got a bar chewer. I'd watch him very closely for the next day to be sure he can get hay into his mouth. If not, you'll have to hand feed it to him. And watch as the tooth grows out to make sure it's not going wonky. His teeth should even up ok.

Even exotic vets get clipper happy when they trim their teeth, and then you wind up having to hand feed. I'd do almost anything to keep from having to have a pig's teeth trimmed.

Please post a picture if you can. I'm wondering about the grey stuff staining his fur. Does it smell bad?

I'd weigh him daily to make sure he's eating his normal amount.