Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Nails/Nail Trimming Black Nails

CinnandMegsMom

Cavy Slave
Hi All and as you can see I'm a newbie so I have lots of questions.

I think I should trim Meg's nails but they are black. I can't see where the quick is and I'm so nervous.

All suggestions, experience, advise is more than welcome.

Some people have had luck with shining a flashlight under the nail so the quick can be visible. I don't have a pig with black nails, but I have a pig with brown nails, and it's harder to see his quick. I just go slowly and shave off a bit at a time. It's better to do frequent nail trims, it helps the quick to recede.

Just trim the very tips. It's better to trim too little at first while you and her are getting used to nail trims. The more you do it, the easier it will be. A flashlight or bright sunlight might help you see as well.

K, I have read that weekly trimmings make the quick recede. What do I do if she bleeds?

You can buy Kwik-Stop Powder. I just use corn starch, and dip the paw into a dish of it if I clip too much. Just stay calm if you get the quick. It happens. Lots of fresh treats will make it better :)

Last edited:
Sigh of thank goodness! Trimmed her nails and just took off the tips. No blood, she flinched a couple of times. I probably got close to the quick. I will be glad when they are older and I'm wiser about them. Right now there seems to be so much drama. I want to coddle them and they think I want to eat them. LOL

I want to coddle them and they think I want to eat them. LOL

ROFL. Mine think I want to feed them to the cats!

Haha you're lucky your pig only flinches, two of my pigs scream, and act as if I am killing them when I clip their nails, and I have never even drawn blood. The others are totally fine with it and just sit there waiting for a treat.