Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register
  • ONE THREAD per pig please!
    We really want your pig's history all in one place to help you. Please don't start a new thread for a new issue. Just reply to your old one. We can edit the title for you if needed.

Feet Black nails... What should I do?

Ithilgil

Cavy Slave
Both Rhode and Robin have black front paws and nails, so I don't know how to tell where the quick is. I don't want to accidentally cut it.

Also, how long should the nails be before I clip them? I'm new at guinea pig care, so I'm really sure. They're both 2-months-old, and as far as I could tell (they won't stay still long enough for me to get a closer look), their nails seemed to be more or less 5mm long, and they aren't that curly yet.

~ithilgil

Shine a flashlight through the nails. I trim my pigs nails 1-2 times a month. Some of my pig's nails grow faster than the others.

I have two girls and only one black nail out of a total of 28 so I am lucky. I saw a video on the net and the lady recommended just taking off the tips of the nails, but do it often. I know from experience with my dogs that if you take of a little bit, but cut them often, you are less likely to cut the quick and the quick actually recedes if you do it regularly. I hope this helps.