Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Shavings Aspen shavings kiln-dried

sfrangu

Cavy Slave
I am using aspen shavings and I wonder if it's kiln-dried would be fine for my piggies, or maybe all wood shavings are kiln dried and I just didn't know until now. Sorry if this sounds like a dumb question, but I'm still learning all the details.

I found this on the home page under bedding.

Bedding

"Aspen is a hardwood shaving which does not have the problems with phenols associated with the softwood beddings such as pine and cedar."

Thank you, I knew that since I've had my first piggy. I was just wondering if their kiln-drying would do anything bad to them, but meanwhile I've already purchased a big bag of it.

No, the kiln-drying is not harmful to them... enjoy your bedding!

Kiln dried makes the shavings better, it removes the phenols that can cause respiratory problems. Aspen doesn't give that problem anyways so it's safe to use, and the prefeerable wood shaving. I hate it's lack of absorbancy though.

Thank you SurfingPigs and Kimberly! We like it very much because of the smell, and change it completely at around 6 days with spot-cleaning daily. I like that I can dispose of all the bedding with one move of the wrist, so to say. And the piggies' fur smells wonderful, we all love giving them little kisses.

No The kinlin dried just means that the oils was heated up and dried out of the shavings.

We use Aspen all the time. Only problem, sometimes w/ the shavings and the hay combined, makes it kinda smell like a farm but then now we have fleece down and it smells too, more than I thought it would .. I've been back and forth a lot.

I like the smell of pine, but you have to worry about getting the kiln dried ones. Blahh... Why do they have to poop so much !