Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register
  • ONE THREAD per pig please!
    We really want your pig's history all in one place to help you. Please don't start a new thread for a new issue. Just reply to your old one. We can edit the title for you if needed.

Heart Issues Are these signs of heart problems?

Adaka

Cavy Slave
Lately my piggy has been making these owl like noises, then he coughs and is back to normal. Is that a sign of heart problems?

Could be, owl like noises can be a sign of that, I would take him to the vet asap to get him checked out to see what it is. Make sure it is a good exotics vet, I've had some very bad experiences with other vets that "treat guinea pigs" Not all vets are good.

OK, but I told my parents that it could be a heart problem, and they said to wait 24 hours and see what happens :S Could something really bad happen in that time?

I don't know to much about heart issues, however you said he has been coughing, which I know is one of the signs of an URI which should be looked at right now, those can get really bad really fast. Tell your parents that with guinea pigs, they hide things, so it could be much worse than it looks, as he's trying to hide it. Reason being is that in the wild, predators pick off the weak fastest, so if they look like they are sick, they would be more likely to get eaten than other healthy pigs. I'd take him to the vet right now to find out what it is, it's better safe than sorry, and if it is something like and URI 24 hours can be the difference between life and death. Though again, I'm not an expert about these things.

It can be. And nothing is really likely to happen to him before tomorrow. If it does, it would be something the vet couldn't do anything about anyway.