Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Adopting Adding a special needs pig to the herd.

Els9547

Cavy Slave
Hello all!
I am new to the forum, but not new to piggy ownership! I am a veterinary student who had previously rescued two young pigs from a man selling them as snake food. I have guessed that they are approximately 6 months old, both female, and pretty sure they are both sisters. Both are doing great, no health problems and they are getting fat and happy at home with me
Recently a pig came into our clinic to be adopted. She had been dropped by her owner and badly damaged her right eye. The eye was taken care of by their vet (although he didn't suture the eye closed after removing it which I found odd), but they decided to put her up for adoption because the little girl was "grossed out" and wouldn't go near her anymore. Anyway, she came to our clinic to find a home but was left behind due to her condition. She was due to be put to sleep, so I figured I would give her a chance with my two.
I brought her home and did a quarantine period and just tonight introduced her to my other two. I estimate her (she was named Dusty, haven't decided on a new name yet) to be about a year old and in good health other than her eye (she is HUGE for a piggy!!). So far things have been okay. There has been some chasing, but no real fighting. As of now the two younger girls are sleeping in one side of the cage and the new pig is packed into the opposite corner. I just wanted to get on here and see if I was doing everything right/if there was anything else I could be doing.