Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Got 2 guinea pigs yesterday! Having trouble cleaning their cage though...

thebowgirl

Cavy Gazer
Hello people! I'm new to this thing so I apologize if I did something wrong haha. I got 2 female cavies yesterday from Craigslist and bought the cage they were living in, as well as all the accessories in it. The thing is the cage is very small (2x2) and I'm guessing the previous owners didn't really clean the cage often. We've had the pigs for less than 48 hours and the room already smells like hay and poop! I've noticed that there are tons of dried up old poop under the hay and bedding, so I'm guessing theres quite a pile up of poop and pee in the small cage. The problem is that instead I just got the pigs, they're still really scared of me and I can't pick them up and transfer them to a play pen while I clean their cage. I'm also planning on changing the bedding from wood chips to fleece because I have no idea what kind of wood chips are in there. I also tried taking a shovel and scooping up the poop, but theres just way too much.

Anyone have any tips or suggestions? I was planning on waiting until the coming weekend to attempt to tame the cavies and transfer the pigs to a playpen while I clean, but the smell is getting really strong and increasingly poo-smelling. Also, I'm quite sure that that amount of waste in such a small space can't benefit the pigs either.