Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Newbie here, getting my piggies in just a few days time!

BrokenCody

Cavy Slave
Howdy, y'all! I'm Cody, new here, and new to cavy-care. I'll be getting my guinea pigs in 3 days, I want terribly to make sure I have everything perfect for them. I'm getting 3 males, babies, and I'm so very excited! I built they enclosure homemade, and it's just a temporary housing situation for them. (I used piggy safe apply-tree wood.) I'm planning on upgrading to a C&C cage soon, I just can't seem to find any of the cubes at any of my local big box stores! I had a few questions, and such, but mainly I just wanted to introduce myself, and talk to some people who might be as excited as I am! Lol. I've wanted guinea pigs for years, but have never lived anywhere where I felt I could take care of them well until now.

Questions for y'all include,

I have large amounts of sassafras wood (It grows HUGE here, we have a floor made entirely out of sassafras boards, in fact.), I was wondering if blocks made of sassafras was safe for them? I've Googled my fingers raw, but can't find any info about it. I know it's a more aromatic wood, so I'm very hesitant about using it, but I have literally several tons of the stuff at my disposal, so if it is safe, it's all hold's barred in this joint! Lol.

Where in heavens name do y'all find the C&C supplies? I live in the boonies, about 30 minutes from a small town, so my options are somewhat limited on stores, but... I can't find any of the cubes at all! The corroplast I got.

Apart frpm that... I'm Cody, I'm 23, and I'm glad to be here!

PiggieWigglies

Cavy Slave
Hi and welcome! Id pass on the sassafrass wood. I dont think it would be too safe.