Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Chewing My piggie has a small raw spot on her leg, I think it's from her chewing

Teachrof4s

Cavy Slave
HELP! I woke up this morning and came to say good morning to my piggie, Cinnamon. I noticed that she has a small raw spot on her front right paw that was not there when I put her to bed last night. She is chewing on it and "whimpers" the sore is about the size of a mechanical pencil erasers surface. I am new to owning her she is only 4 months old. She is a solo guinea pig and currently is in a store bought cage. She has free floor time every night for at least an hour. I take her on my enclosed patio. I don't know what to do. Please help!

littlenme

Cavy Slave
I am new to the forum as well, but wanted to bump this up so that maybe some others could post and try to help you. If you can attach a picture it might help. Is it on the surface of the paw, or by a toe? Is she scratching anywhere else? Seem itchy? Is she behaving normally and eating well? What type of bedding is she on? Sopme more info might help the experienced board members to help give you some input.
If she seems worse, is not eating, or behaving normally see a vet.
And please check out the cage suggestions in the cage store. i made my c and c for under 40 dollars and my piggies are so much happier then when in thier store bought. The store bought has been saved for quarintine and travel. I already needed it as one of my babies had a URI.
Welcome to the board and I hope Cinammon is doing alright.

cavy_jdas

Cavy Slave
Hi [MENTION=29086]Teachrof4s[/MENTION] - can you post a pic? Is it on the side or bottom of the foot? And does it look like she has been injured, or does it look like excessive licking or scratching or biting? Is the skin broken, or is it just sore and red? Any info or pic would help.

aspecht