Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register
  • If you need a specific country prefix that isn't listed, please contact the staff.

Europe Japanese "morumotto"

Erenna

Cavy Slave
Ohayoo gozaimasu,

I'm a Canadian learning beginner Japanese, so of course I looked up guinea pig in the dictionary and came up with "morumotto" in Katakana. I'm not surprised it's a loan word but from where? I'm really curious now how guinea pigs were introduced to Japan. If my Japanese were up to it I'd check a Japanese etymological dictionary but they are hard enough to understand in English.

Anyone else have any ideas?

arigatoo,

Erenna

MBlight

Cavy Slave
I can't really answer your question but it's quite interesting to note that it's very similiar to my home language, Afrikaans, where piggies are called Marmotte. Even though Afrikaans was not derived from Japanese in any way!

IrisxMinerva

Cavy Slave
I can't really answer your question but it's quite interesting to note that it's very similiar to my home language, Afrikaans, where piggies are called Marmotte. Even though Afrikaans was not derived from Japanese in any way!

I think "marmotte" in Afrikaans comes from the Dutch word "marmot", which is a name some people use here for cavy's. A marmot isn't a guinea pig though, it's a completely different animal lol

I guess the japanese name could be from the word marmot (I think marmot is an english wordt too?) too, the words look too much alike not to be in my opinion. The japenese use a lot of english words and they just pronounce them in a japanese way, like the word "kiss", they would pronounce it as "kissu" or something like that.

Cogni

Cavy Slave
I don't know about the origin of the Japanese word marumotto (it can also be spelled marumoto) but I will try to find out about it.