Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: C&C Block cages?

  1. #1
    Cavy Slave
    Joined
    Jun 01, 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanks
    0 Rec'd/0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Question C&C Block cages?

    Hi,
    I am picking up some correx/coroplast tomorrow, I need to build three cages. The space is sort of limited at the moment, so I was trying to think of a way to build the three on top of each other. Really sorry if there are already threads on this, did a search but didn't come up with anything - if you can point me to a thread though that would be great.
    Would three cages on top of each other made only from grids and correx, no wood or anything in between the levels be stable? I have cable ties as well as connectors to help secure it.
    Also, how would I go about making doors that can open without the whole thing falling down? I was thinking maybe cutting removable panels out of the grids on one side of the cage and securing them with bulldog clips - would that work?
    Thanks for any help

  2. #2
    Cavy Slave mncavylover's Avatar
    Joined
    Jun 11, 2004
    Location
    Saint Paul, MN
    Posts
    3,325
    Thanks
    0
    Thanks
    3 Rec'd/3 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Re: C&C Block cages?

    I'm not sure about the stability, and the door would be a bit sharp as it is wire. How about browsing through the galleries? There are many ideas there!

  3. #3
    Cavy Slave
    Joined
    Jul 21, 2004
    Location
    Somewhere in the vicinity of Beetelgeuse
    Posts
    1,885
    Thanks
    1
    Thanks
    1 Rec'd/1 Post
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Re: C&C Block cages?

    It wouldn't be stable at all(sorry!). To make doors, just get some cable ties and put here:
    grids-->
    --
    h h
    Does that make sense? Then make the door close from pipe cleaners, binder clip, ect. Cable ties enable the grids to swing instead of staying in place.

  4. #4
    Cavy Slave
    Joined
    Sep 10, 2004
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    360
    Thanks
    0
    Thanks
    0 Rec'd/0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Re: C&C Block cages?

    that would have to be a realy high cage.

    for the doors, you could use binder clips to keep it closed. very easy and convinient. and if you decide to cut the doors from the grid, in other words cutting a square in the grid panel, you should get the binder edging "thing" to cover the cut parts.

    sorry, i forgot what the binder "thing" was actually called. maybe someone else can help you.

  5. #5
    Cavy Slave
    Joined
    Jun 01, 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanks
    0 Rec'd/0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Re: C&C Block cages?

    Sorry I haven't replied sooner, I forgot I posted here! Thanks for all the suggestions
    I managed to make the block as I'd planned, and I'm thrilled to say that it works really really well! It's very surprisingly sturdy, I am very pleased with it.
    Here are a couple of pics




  6. #6
    Cavy Slave Piglet's Avatar
    Joined
    Apr 10, 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    5,105
    Thanks
    0
    Thanks
    5 Rec'd/5 Posts
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Re: C&C Block cages?

    How many guinea pigs are in each cage? How have you made the doors

  7. #7
    Administrator CavySpirit's Avatar
    Joined
    Jan 03, 2004
    Location
    San Mateo, California
    Posts
    8,107
    Blog Entries
    4
    Thanks
    956
    Thanks
    2,456 Rec'd/800 Posts
    Mentioned
    167 Post(s)
    Quoted
    162 Post(s)
    Items for Sale

    Re: C&C Block cages?

    That's 5 square feet per cage.

  8. #8
    Cavy Slave
    Joined
    Jun 01, 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanks
    0 Rec'd/0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Re: C&C Block cages?

    There are three in the bottom at the moment (not permanently), one boar in the middle and two sows in the top.

  9. #9
    Cavy Slave
    Joined
    Sep 10, 2004
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    360
    Thanks
    0
    Thanks
    0 Rec'd/0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Re: C&C Block cages?

    you should really think about expanding their cages. thats not enough room for them. lianne

  10. #10
    Cavy Slave CCcages's Avatar
    Joined
    Jan 11, 2004
    Posts
    161
    Thanks
    17
    Thanks
    34 Rec'd/20 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)

    Re: C&C Block cages?

    But, how do you get at them? Is there a "door", or do you have to disassemble it to clean the cages? How do you get the veggies to them?

  11. #11
    Cavy Slave Piglet's Avatar
    Joined
    Apr 10, 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    5,105
    Thanks
    0
    Thanks
    5 Rec'd/5 Posts
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Re: C&C Block cages?

    Thats what I was thinking. There probably is a door that swings open (maybe on cable ties?)

  12. #12
    Cavy Slave
    Joined
    Jun 01, 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanks
    0 Rec'd/0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Re: C&C Block cages?


    you should really think about expanding their cages. thats not enough room for them. lianne
    Yes, I am planning on expanding them as soon as I can - my dad said he'll help me build a bigger block of cages (from wood) but it's got to wait until after christmas. They all get floor time in the shed every day, it's the best I can do at the moment

    The door I made by cutting a panel out of the front grids, and then attaching another grid over it with cable ties at the top and a binder clip at the bottom, so that it swings up.

User Tag List

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •