Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Ferrets Ferret?

sofiemuffins

Cavy Slave
Has anyone made a C&C cage for a Ferret? I don't have a Ferret, but I'm curious. Would it just be a large Cavy C&C with a cover?

loves2travel

Cavy Slave
well, i know they can squeeze through really tiny spaces, so you would probably need to double grid.

sofiemuffins

Cavy Slave
hmmm..basically I'm corious because in the future I'd like to have a rescue for small animals (hamsters, ferrets, rabbits, and Guineas of course!). And C&C cages would be great because they're cheap to make, and roomy for the animals. I graduated college with a graphic design degree, so I'm hoping that I can one day work from home.

Nathan

Cavy Slave
sofiemuffins said:
Has anyone made a C&C cage for a Ferret? I don't have a Ferret, but I'm curious. Would it just be a large Cavy C&C with a cover?
I am planning on making a cage for a ferret. I should have it done and ready for the little guy in Dec.

I do know that the smallest thing you have to worry about for them getting out is 2"x2" holes. I am planning on getting cubes with 1"x1" I believe they have them at Bed Bath, and Beyond.

I will keep you updated with my progress.

brillobee

Cavy Slave
I have a ferret and I know she can squeeze through the 1.5" grid holes like nothing. You'd need a double grid.

loves2travel

Cavy Slave
thats what i thought, brillobee! In our old house, their were some loose ferrets in the neighborhood. they had breeded in the wild, and there were many. they used to get into our house by slipping under the front door!!!!!! they CAN get into TINY spaces.

Nathan

Cavy Slave
Well, I have decided to use the Kid's Cubes at Target.

tashagurl

Cavy Slave