Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Issues with building a new cage

  1. #1
    Cavy Slave GadgetGirl's Avatar
    Joined
    Jun 15, 2006
    Location
    New Castle, DE
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    18
    Thanks
    3 Rec'd/2 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Issues with building a new cage

    Today I bought some coroplast and my car was so small I had to have it cut in half. I need to build a 2x5 cage for my three girls now that quarantine is over. They have been in a 2x4 for one week and I can see that I need that extra grid length. The problem is that since it's been cut, it's not long enough. How do I make it long enough? Should I tape it together? Should I take my old cages and combine them (I have a 2x4 and a 2x3 plus the new coroplast)? I could really use some ideas on what to do. I'm ready to build today and any help anyone could give me would be greatly appreciated.

    GadgetGirl the piggie lover

  2. #2
    Cavy Slave standuprookie's Avatar
    Joined
    Jun 19, 2006
    Location
    An hour NorthEast of Dallas
    Posts
    559
    Thanks
    23
    Thanks
    42 Rec'd/23 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Issues with building a new cage

    You can tape the coroplast together using clear packaging tape.

  3. "Thank you, standuprookie, for this useful post," says:


  4. #3
    Cavy Slave GadgetGirl's Avatar
    Joined
    Jun 15, 2006
    Location
    New Castle, DE
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    18
    Thanks
    3 Rec'd/2 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Issues with building a new cage

    Quote Originally Posted by GadgetGirl
    Today I bought some coroplast and my car was so small I had to have it cut in half. I need to build a 2x5 cage for my three girls now that quarantine is over. They have been in a 2x4 for one week and I can see that I need that extra grid length. The problem is that since it's been cut, it's not long enough. How do I make it long enough? Should I tape it together? Should I take my old cages and combine them (I have a 2x4 and a 2x3 plus the new coroplast)? I could really use some ideas on what to do. I'm ready to build today and any help anyone could give me would be greatly appreciated.

    GadgetGirl the piggie lover
    Can someone help me? This is really important. I don't know what to do with the coroplast! It's not long enough for the 2x5 cage. I have assembled the grids and I need help with the coroplast. Does anyone have any ideas how I could make the coroplast fit the cage without anything falling through a crack? Has anyone else had this problem, and if so, what did you do about it?


    Sincerely, very sincerely
    GadgetGirl the piggie lover

  5. #4
    Cavy Slave 3littlepigs's Avatar
    Joined
    Jul 14, 2006
    Location
    richmond
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    0
    Thanks
    2 Rec'd/2 Posts
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Issues with building a new cage

    I have not had much luck taping two pieces of chloroplast together because things seem to stick to the tape. However, don't know if you know this but you can roll the chloroplast. I also have a small car, but when I made my latest cage I needed a really large piece. So, with the help of the people in the store we rolled it up and put packaging tape on the outside to keep it from unrolling. Don't know if you want to go to the trouble and expense of getting another piece, but maybe if all else fails.(???) Or what about keeping your 2x4 and just adding another level with your grids?

  6. "Thank you, 3littlepigs, for this useful post," says:


  7. #5
    Cavy Slave GadgetGirl's Avatar
    Joined
    Jun 15, 2006
    Location
    New Castle, DE
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    18
    Thanks
    3 Rec'd/2 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Issues with building a new cage

    Quote Originally Posted by 3littlepigs
    Don't know if you want to go to the trouble and expense of getting another piece, but maybe if all else fails.(???) Or what about keeping your 2x4 and just adding another level with your grids?
    I thought with three piggies a 2x5 was the required length. I could make a second level but does that add to the true size of the cage?

    Thank you for your response and ideas, I appreciate it.

    GadgetGirl the piggie lover

  8. #6
    Cavy Slave GadgetGirl's Avatar
    Joined
    Jun 15, 2006
    Location
    New Castle, DE
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    18
    Thanks
    3 Rec'd/2 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Issues with building a new cage

    I'm figuring that no one has any ideas about putting coroplast together to make a 2x5, so I've decided to make it a 3x4 instead. It uses the same amount of grids but instead of being a long area, it becomes a square area. I'm also going to put upper levels on each of the 3 grid ends which should make for more space. There will be connectors between the two second levels with one ramp going up to one side. I'll drop some pictures in when I'm finished.

    GadgetGirl the piggie lover

  9. #7
    Cavy Slave AltoRose's Avatar
    Joined
    May 16, 2006
    Location
    Wilmington, DE
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    3
    Thanks
    1 Rec'd/1 Post
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Issues with building a new cage

    The same thing happened to me when I bought my Coroplast--the full sheet wouldn't fit in my car, so we had to cut it into quarters. I just pieced it together and taped it on both sides with clear packing tape, then did my measuring, cutting, etc. It probably wasn't ideal, but it's holding up just fine.

    Oh, and I also have a 2x5.

  10. "Thank you, AltoRose, for this useful post," says:


  11. #8
    Cavy Champion, Previous Forum Moderator Ly&Pigs's Avatar
    Joined
    Dec 05, 2004
    Location
    Mountain View, Arkansas
    Posts
    21,140
    Thanks
    299
    Thanks
    5,434 Rec'd/1,918 Posts
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

    Re: Issues with building a new cage

    You could get some duct tape and tape the edges where the pieces meet. Duct tape holds much better than packing tape. Nowadays they have duct tape in several colors, you can get white, black and other colors.

    The 4mm coroplast can be rolled to fit in smaller vehicles.

  12. "Thank you, Ly&Pigs, for this useful post," says:


  13. #9
    Cavy Slave fourbwabbys's Avatar
    Joined
    Jul 27, 2005
    Location
    The United States of Apiggica
    Posts
    4,231
    Thanks
    162
    Thanks
    128 Rec'd/90 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Issues with building a new cage

    I used black electrical tape when I reconstructed my cage.

  14. "Thank you, fourbwabbys, for this useful post," says:


  15. #10
    Cavy Slave
    Joined
    Apr 17, 2006
    Location
    Hamilton, ON, Canada
    Posts
    1,432
    Thanks
    67
    Thanks
    92 Rec'd/61 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Issues with building a new cage

    For rolling coroplast, you definitely need to use packing tape to hold it together. The girl at Home Depot helped me roll it, and it kept popping the tape open an unrolling when we tried masking tape or duct tape. Packing tape held it, but you need to wrap it all the way around. I got it to fit in a small Acura.

  16. "Thank you, fairysari, for this useful post," says:


  17. #11
    Cavy Slave smartorl's Avatar
    Joined
    Jun 19, 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    397
    Thanks
    19
    Thanks
    64 Rec'd/36 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Issues with building a new cage

    Because of the large size of my cage, there are several pieces of coroplast joined. I have used the red duct tape (it matches my coroplast) with great results. It is waterproof as well. I did use a small plastic slat, almost like a ruler on the bottom that straddled the seam and taped it well top and bottom and it is as good and sturdy, if not more so, than solid coroplast. Duct tape is awesome!!! I saw a show the other night where a lady makes purses, backpacks, and craft bags out of colored duct tape.

  18. "Thank you, smartorl, for this useful post," says:


  19. #12
    Cavy Slave PiggieMom's Avatar
    Joined
    Mar 06, 2006
    Location
    Mt. Pleasant, MI
    Posts
    3,154
    Thanks
    225
    Thanks
    252 Rec'd/160 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Issues with building a new cage

    I used duct tape and it worked really well. I'm very good with duct tape. I use it for everything.

  20. "Thank you, PiggieMom, for this useful post," says:


  21. #13
    Cavy Slave
    Joined
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanks
    0 Rec'd/0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Issues with building a new cage

    Yes duct tape works fine. I had an upper deck which was 2x2 and I turned it into a 1x4 loft. I just cut and taped them into a new shape and I even sprayed the taped coroplast down with a garden hose and a jet nozzle and it still held.

User Tag List

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •