Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register
  • ONE THREAD per pig please!
    We really want your pig's history all in one place to help you. Please don't start a new thread for a new issue. Just reply to your old one. We can edit the title for you if needed.

How will I know she's going into labor- day 64 today.

zoe11032

Cavy Gazer
Hello! On May 1st I got two piggies I was told were 2 females, well, one was male. I have a female I believe is very pregnant. She's about 7-8 months old now. I'm new to piggies. I have her in a 2x4 C&C cage with fleece liners from Etsy. Does anyone know how labor is close approaching? She's going through a great amount of water! one or more bottles per day about. We are about day 60-65 today, give or take. I feel a bit of decent seperation in her pubic bones. i also feel pretty decent sized kicks as well. Luckily I work at a veterinary office so I have a DVM on standby!! Thanks for your help :)

J4mGj5b.jpg

Guinea Pig Papa

Staff member
Cavy Slave
I've never had sows, much less a pregnant one. That said, I'm pretty sure your little girl will be giving birth any time now.

I wouldn't handle her from here on out unless absolutely necessary.

Smileandnod

Cavy Slave
Hello and welcome to the world of guinea pigs.

No need to keep checking her pelvic bones. I think that just stresses out the mom more than it gives an indication of impending birth. You will eventually hear the babies inside gnashing their teeth. My two (who were already pregnant when I adopted them from a shelter) gave birth a few days after hearing that. No need to handle her more than necessary.

Drape some fleece over an end of the cage to give her a quiet safe place and lots of hay.