Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

New to Guinea Pigs!

stephable

Cavy Slave
Hi all!

I'm pretty new to guinea pigs but excited to give mine a good home and learn more! My name is Steph and I'm from Australia.

I recently saw an ad on facebook of someone giving away their 4 female guinea pigs for free and I was worried about them so I took them. I had a vacant hutch as my rabbits have moved indoors for safety from disease. I measured it and it's big enough got 4, plus I have an exercise space (safely enclosed) and a courtyard they can run around in when supervised. I have 4 gorgeous girls now (double checked the sex). I've only had them about 5 days so they're still pretty timid, I'll add photos when they're more comfortable coming close enough. I was told that one is an alpaca and the other three I'm not sure about other than one has longer fur and the other two have some funky whorls.

They're all named after citrus fruits, their names are Pomelo (the alpaca, she looks like a pom pom!), Tangerine (has a lovely flash of orange hair on her head), Clementine (the most timid, a dark brown with white face) and Satsuma (brave girl!).

So far I have them set up with a cooling mat under their bedding (so far it's blankets/towels but I'm in the process of making my own fleece bedding), a bunch of huts/tunnels, 2 heavy water bowls and they get 2 bowls with veggies a day. I was given a "rabbit and guinea pig" mix when I got them but have been feeding them fresh hay mostly. I have high quality pellets ordered to replace the mix when it arrives!

They seem to be doing well/eating well/exercising so I'm pretty happy that they're enjoying their new home.