Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Reintroduction & a lot of written waffle.

stray hares

Cavy Star, Photo Contest Winner
Cavy Slave
Hello, hello, long time no post. I thought I would kindly reintroduce myself, also because I don't think I ever did an introduction post here previously, so, two pigs with one cuddle sack I guess...

My name is Jessica and I used to run a very small piggy rescue but the stress became overwhelming and a little too much (more the people side of things than the pigs! But also there's a lot of sadness and grief involved, and that takes its toll). I work as a diagnostic medical scientist here in Brisbane, Australia, currently in the field of human genetics, but I am toying with the idea of moving to general veterinary diagnostics... it's just a strange time to be changing fields, so I might think on that some more.

I work really closely with my very awesome exotic vets and I (unfortunately) have experience with a lot of weird piggy illnesses. Over many years and many, many pigs I've only dealt with one bladder stone for instance, but then have also seen a guinea pig who vomits due to a stomach tumour, guinea pigs with infectious bladder diseases that have never been seen the species before (but has been seen in sheep??), and guinea pigs with highly unusual congenital issues. I think it comes as a package deal with rescue, but also because I am extremely diagnostic and research focused, I will nearly always ask for post mortem and pathology testing for strange piggy losses. I think it can help future pigs if the vets can learn from weird cases (and I know for a fact that some of my piggies have changed how my vets deal with guinea pigs with similar illnesses, and their cases have been presented at conferences so I like to think they've helped piggies Australia-wide too). :)